Learner Literature Awards 2012 announced in New Zealand

The Learner Literature Awards are conferred each year on books that are selected for their outstanding overall quality and likely enduring appeal. An international jury makes the final choices, taking into account the Internet votes of students, teachers and others from around the world. The winners are announced in the summer and this year the ERF counted on the support of the Independent Learning Association to make them public at the 5th International Independent Learning Association Conference in Wellington, Aotearoa/New Zealand on September 2nd.

Talking about the event, Averil Coxhead said, ‘It was a pleasure to announce the winners of the Extensive Reading Foundation Learner Literature Awards 2012 in the conference.’

The Extensive Reading Foundation would like to thank board members, Professor Paul Nation and Dr Averil Coxhead, Victoria University of Wellington,  who presented the awards in New Zealand.

Averil Coxhead is Senior Lecturer in Applied Linguistics at the School of Linguistics and Applied Language Studies. She teaches courses on second language learning in the BEdTESOL and the MA in Applied Linguistics/TESOL programs. Averil has taught in New Zealand, England, Estonia, Hungary, and Romania. Averil is also a member of the  ERF executive committee.

Paul Nation is professor of Applied Linguistics in the School of Linguistics and Applied Language Studies at Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand. He has taught in Indonesia, Thailand, the United States, Finland, and Japan. His specialist interests are language teaching methodology and vocabulary learning.

For more photos of the ILA conference, please go to http://www.ila.net.nz/


The winners of the 2012 LLL Awards will receive their certificates in a special awards ceremony at the IATEFL 47th Annual Conference to take place in Liverpool in April 2013.

This entry was posted in LLL Awards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.