2006 LLL Awards

The Extensive Reading Foundation (ERF), an unaffiliated, not-for profit organization whose mission is to support and promote extensive reading in language education, takes pleasure in announcing the winners of the Second Annual Language Learner Literature Award for books published in 2005.

An international jury made the final choices, taking into account the Internet votes of students and teachers from around the world.

Young Learners: Winner

Thumbelina retold by Sue Arengo. Illustrated by Celeste Goulding. Oxford University Press. Classic Tales Beginner 2. ISBN 0 19 422537 2.

In selecting Thumbelina as the winner, the jury made particular note of the clear and repetitive language that will appeal to young learners. Voters commented, “It’s a very cute story.” (Japan) “I loved the illustrations. . . . Simply beautiful.” (Cyprus)

Adolescents and Adults: Winner

The Amazon Rain Forest by Bernard Smith. Illustrations by Harriet Buckley. Pearson Education. Penguin Readers, Elementary, Level 2. ISBN 0 582 85492 X.

In a closely called decision, The Amazon Rain Forest was chosen for its outstanding overall production, and for its sense of drama, going beyond cliched environmental facts. Voters commented, “It is really very interesting.” (India) “I have learned a lot.” (Canada)

In addition to the winners, the following books were selected as the shortlisted “finalists” in each category:

Young Learners: Finalists

The Slippery Planet by Rosemary Hayes. Illustrated by Ian Newsham. Cambridge Storybooks Level 4. ISBN 0 52 167477 8.
The Special Cake by June Crebbin. Illustrated by Peter Kavanagh. Cambridge Storybooks Level 4. ISBN 0 52 167472 7

Adolescents and Adults: Finalists

Ned Kelly: a True Story by Christine Lindop. Original illustrations by David Eaton. Oxford University Press. Oxford Bookworms Library Stage 1. ISBN 0 19 423307 3.
Within High Fences by Penny Hancock. Cambridge University Press. Cambridge English Readers Level 2. ISBN 0 52 160560 1.

The ERF thanks the publishers who nominated books, the members of the Award Jury, and all those who voted in this year’s Award. The nomination and voting procedures for the 2007 Language Learner Literature Award will be posted on this website in December 2006.

Leave a Reply