The Extensive Reading Foundation Language Learner Literature Award 2022
Call for Nominations

Nomination Procedure

The Extensive Reading Foundation (ERF) invites publishers to nominate individual graded readers or other material for extensive reading for its 2022 (19th Annual) Language Learner Literature Award.

1. Eligible material

English-language graded readers, or other texts for extensive reading, copyright 2021

By graded reader, we mean an original or adapted book of nonfiction or fiction designed for second/foreign language students to read an extensive amount of text. A graded reader is often written to certain specifications–lexical, grammatical, or other– so that it is suitable for non-native English learners of a certain level of ability. It is assumed that learners spend most of their time with the book actually reading (as opposed to doing exercises, answering comprehension questions, etc.). A graded reader may contain exercises and questions at the end of the book, or between chapters. By readers, we are not referring to what are often called “reading skills” books.

Books published in calendar year 2021 but bearing a 2022 copyright date are not eligible for the award. Please apply in the following year.

2. Award categories

There are six categories of the Award for individual books:

  • Adolescents & Adults (4 categories)
    • Beginner (up to 400* headwords)
    • Elementary (401-800 words; CEF A1 & A2 levels)
    • Intermediate (801-1500 words; CEF B1)
    • Upper Intermediate & Advanced (1501+ words; CEF B2, C1, C2)
  • Young Learners (2 categories)
    • Very Young learners (up to age 5/ 1st grade)
    • Young Learners  (ages 6-11 / 2nd -6th Grade)

*Please note that the headword levels for the “Beginner” and “Elementary” levels have been modified this year to encourage more submissions in the “Beginner” category.

For Adolescent and Adult readers, see the classification on the ERF Publishers Page for guidance. If you are unsure which category to nominate in, or have other questions, please contact Cory Koby:

Please note:

1) Different publishers have different leveling schemes. If you have a book that crosses two categories (e.g., 280 words but is labeled CEFR A1), enter it in the category you feel most correctly represents the book’s level.

2) Nominations must have face validity. Books that were clearly published for the children’s market can NOT be considered for the lower levels of the Adolescents and Adults category.

3) Books written for native-speaking children rather than ELT audiences are normally not graded for syntactic or lexical complexity needed by foreign language learners and are thus ineligible for the LLL awards.

3. Number of books that may be nominated

A publisher may nominate up to two (2) books in each of the six categories (i.e., a maximum of 12 books per publisher).

4. Judging criteria

We recognize that an award such as this is subjective. Among the criteria jurors will use in choosing the finalist books are:We recognize that an award such as this is subjective. Among the criteria jurors will use in choosing the finalist books are:

  • Intrinsic interest of theme or topic
  • Readability for language learners
  • Quality of writing
  • Appropriateness and quality of illustration and graphic presentation
  • Production factors including jacket design, general design, typography, standard of editing, and physical durability of book
  • The evaluation of the book by teachers and students who provide input on the ERF LLL Award Feedback page.

Jurors are looking for nonfiction and fiction books that will engage and satisfy the learner; in short, books that are “a good read.”

Jurors are looking for nonfiction and fiction books that will engage and satisfy the learner; in short, books that are “a good read.”

5. Procedure for nominating a book

1. Send four (4) copies of each nominated book to Cory Koby, Jury Liaison, to be received by December 15, 2021. His address is:

Prof. Cory Koby (Attn: ERF LLLA)
Tezukayama Gakuin University
4-2-2 Harumidai
Minami-ku, Sakai-shi, Osaka

Phone: +81 (0)80-8205-8018

2. Establish an account on the ERF Moodle website, If you have any difficulty, contact Tom Robb:

3. Log into the ERF Moodle site and enter the details for your organization and each candidate title as instructed on the page.

The URL is:

When you log in for first time you may be asked to enter the enrolment key: LLL-awards-2022

Important Note: When you are at the website, please be sure to check the “ER Publisher Contact Database” to make sure we have current information about the contact person (people) in your company. As you know, there is great turnover in the publishing industry. Please make sure we have the current contacts for your company.

Please follow the other instructions concerning uploading the book cover indicated on the Nomination Page. If your book is a finalist, this will be important for publicity.

6. Finalist Evaluation Program

Three books in each category are selected as finalists. The publishers of these finalist books are requested to participate in the ERF Finalist Evaluation Program. For the program, 10 representative teachers from around the world are selected to receive two copies of each finalist book for reading and evaluation by their students. Publishers are requested to send their finalist title(s) to the teachers by air post or courier service. This will be in March 2021.

7. Nominations deadline

Nominated books must be received by December 15, 2021.  Please send four copies of each nominated title.

NB: Nominated books must be copyright 2021

Finalists will be announced on-line in April. We are still finalizing other announcement events.

Winners will be announced at IATEFL 2022 and online.

Thank you in advance for participating and good luck in the contest.

Comments are closed.