The Extensive Reading Foundation Language Learner Literature Award 2017
Call for Nominations

Nomination Procedure

The Extensive Reading Foundation (ERF) invites publishers to nominate individual graded readers or other material for extensive reading for its 2017 (14th Annual) Language Learner Literature Award.

1. Eligible material

English-language graded readers, or other text for extensive reading, copyright 2016

By graded reader, we mean an original or adapted book of nonfiction or fiction designed for second/foreign language students to read an extensive amount of text. A graded reader is often written to certain specifications–lexical, grammatical, or other– so that it is suitable for non-native English learners of a certain level of ability. It is assumed that learners spend most of their time with the book actually reading (as opposed to doing exercises, answering comprehension questions, etc.). A graded reader may contain exercises and questions at the end of the book, or between chapters. By “readers”, we are not referring to what are often called “reading skills” books

Books published in calendar year 2016 but bearing a 2017 copyright date are not eligible for the 2017 award. Please apply in the following year.

2. Award categories

There are six categories of the Award for individual books:

  • Adolescents & Adults (4 categories)
    • Beginner (up to 300 headwords)
    • Elementary (301-800 words; CEF A1 & A2 levels)
    • Intermediate (801-1500 words; CEF B1)
    • Upper Intermediate & Advanced (1501+ words; CEF B2, C1, C2)
  • Young Learners (2 categories)
    • Very young learners (up to age 5/ 1st grade
    • Young Learners (ages 6-11 / 2nd -6th Grade)

For Adolescent and Adult readers, see the classification on the ERF Publishers Page for guidance. If you are unsure which category to nominate in, or have other questions, please contact Marc Helgesen

Note: Different publishers have different leveling schemes. If you have a book that crosses two categories (e.g., 280 words but is labeled CEF A1), enter it in the category you feel most correctly represents the book’s level.

3. Number of books that may be nominated

A publisher may nominate up to two (2) books in each of the six categories (i.e., a maximum of 12 books per publisher).

4. Judging criteria

We recognize that an award such as this is subjective. Among the criteria jurors will use in choosing the finalist books are:

  • Intrinsic interest of theme or topic
  • Readability for language learners
  • Quality of writing
  • Appropriateness and quality of illustration and graphic presentation
  • Production factors including jacket design, general design, typography, standard of editing, and physical durability of book
  • The evaluation of the book by teachers and students who provide input on the ERF LLL Award Feedback page.

Jurors are looking for nonfiction and fiction books that will engage and satisfy the learner; in short, books that are “a good read.”

5. Procedure for nominating a book

1. Send four (4) copies of each nominated book to Marc Helgesen, Jury Liaison, to be received by December 15, 2016. His address is

Prof. Marc Helgesen
Dept. of Intercultural Studies (ATTN: ERF LLLA)
Miyagi Gakuin Women’s University
9-1-1 Sakuragaoka, Aoba-ku,
Sendai 981-8557 Japan

Tel: +81 (0)22 277-6204
Fax: +81 (0)22 277-6208

2. Establish an account on the ERF website, As a spam prevention measure, new accounts must be approved which may take up to 24 hours. To expedite approval, send a message to, explaining the reason for your application.

If you have any difficulty, contact Tom Robb:

3. Log into the ERF Moodle site and enter the particulars for your organization and each candidate title as instructed on the page.

The URL is:

When you log in for first time you may be asked to enter the enrolment key: LLL-awards-2017

Important Note: When you are at the website, please be sure that we have current information about the contact person/people in your organization.

6. Finalist Evaluation Program

Three books in each category are selected as finalists. The publishers of these finalist books are requested to participate in the ERF Finalist Evaluation Program. For the program, 10 representative teachers from around the world are selected to receive two copies of each finalist book for reading and evaluation by their students. Publishers are requested to send their finalist title(s) to the teachers by air post or courier service. This will be in March 2017

7. Nominations deadline

Nominated books must be received by December 15, 2016.

NB: Nominated books must be copyright 2016

Thanks in advance for participating and good luck in the contest.

Finalists will be announced on-line and at IATEFL 2017, 4-7 April, Glasgow.

Winners will be announced at the 4th Extensive Reading World Congress, August 5-7, 2017 at Toyo Gakuen University, Tokyo

Leave a Reply